Showing posts with label Borat. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Borat. Show all posts

Monday, January 24, 2011

BORAT (2006)

I'm almost done with 24: Season 7, so expect a review on that soon.

Idk what it is, but from season to season, I don't really remember too much. To tell you the truth, the season that I have the most vivid memories for is Day 1. It's somewhat like that for CSI (Las Vegas) as well. Season One stands out the most.
- - - - -
BORAT: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan.

This movie was just as funny as, if not funnier, than when I first saw it.

There were moments I remembered, and there were some I did not. Overall, a super delightful, enjoyable experience.

It satirizes the American population (especially the conservative and at times, ignorant, right) to a tee, and the rapport Borat builds with his unsuspecting cohorts (audience) is truly a work of art.

(I commented at one point that hopefully Sacha Baron Cohen apologized to some people [NOT ALL] after the filming of this--especially to Pamela Anderson... or NOT) <- nod to the film (o;

JUST GO WATCH IT ALREADY.

Aside from the fact that it most likely very inaccurately portrays people from Kazakhstan--it is an accurate portrayal of an unsuspecting American public.

People would be more real than they would be in a Michael Moore documentary, because they believe this movie is for a foreign audience.

He does it again in "Bruno," but I know more people found that offensive. Mostly people uncomfortable with homosexuality and homosexual scenes will not be able to stomach some of "Bruno" 's more graphic scenes.

But I digress.

This review will be short and sweet, because IN SHORT-

WATCH "BORAT."

Grade: A

I actually want to liken it to "Shrek" (don't ask me why; I find they are in the same vein--and NOT the Shrek sequels--just the first one). It's satirical--pokes fun at itself, at the genre it's supposed to be in, and at its viewers, even. I like those types of movies. (On a side note, actors willing to portray themselves as a caricature of themselves are cool in my book, too.)

I forgot--I also had a chance to go watch the Indie film "Blue Valentine" with an old roommate (friend), and I must say. I was expecting it to be good the way I thought "500 Days of Summer" was (also with the same friend--she likes Indie films!), and it was. Satisfied me.

It told a human story about love, just as "500 Days" did, and honestly, in this day and age--a realistic story that is spun well and has good acting in it deserves an A.

Review to come.

(Also, Ken Davitian did an awesome job as well. You can also find him in "Get Smart," which I thoroughly enjoyed. Although it may have seemed farcical, the scenes in the trailer were nowhere near some of the funnier scenes in the movie--a fact I like about funny movies. You shouldn't have all your funniest bits in the trailer...)

CHEERS! (o;

Mirrors (2008)

How do I start?

I really wanted to see this when it came out, and then the reviews apparently weren't too fond of it, and generally when that happens, the tv spots and trailers drop out (frequency drops) after the movie opens.

I didn't give it a second thought till recently.

"Mirrors" does what it needs to do.

As a refresher, my boyfriend and I re-watched the Trailer, and we concurred that the ending may have been what killed the ratings for the movie (there's an explosion in the trailer, so I'm not SPOILing anything). Any time there's something like that, it kinda kills what could have otherwise been an AWESOME supernatural thriller/horror story...

As a general rule, I don't like too much gore, but I think after watching CSI, I've become deadened to it, because I watched the "Saw" movies (only I-III) and felt nothing--didn't need to look away, no stomach turning. Although, I've never had that feeling before; just an uncomfy unsettled feeling because I tend to feel every cut, bruise, break happens to me, physically. Can't really explain it. Probably why I never wanted to become a doctor.

But I digress.

My boyfriend made the comment that someone had to have made a movie about this concept already! But I'm pretty sure "Mirrors" is the first of its kind.

It stars Kiefer Sutherland and Paula Patton (I actually enjoyed her performance in "Idlewild"--a movie I'd recommend!), as well as a guest appearance by Amy Smart as Sutherland's sister.

The premise of the movie (if you don't already know) is that apparently another world exists beyond the mirrors--almost a parallel universe--or something beyond the mirrors looking in to our world--as if we saw it the way a 2-way mirror works--it can see in, but we only see our reflections.

(It's actually an evil spirit of some kind, but again, you could get that from the trailer.)

My understanding from the trailer was that, no matter what happened in the mirror, if it happened in there, then it didn't matter if YOU on this side weren't doing anything, it'd happen to you.

And that's about it.

Kiefer Sutherland plays a retired cop--or in-between because he's trying to get reinstated--who takes on a part-time job as the night watchman of an abandoned department store (don't ask me why--both my boyfriend and I came to the consensus that the owners should just install a security system if they're that worried about hooligans, riffraff, and looting--unless machinery doesn't work inside, but they never explain it; also--CREEPY AS HELL--why would you work there?? He suggested that the security guard just say he made his rounds, but not actually).

Overall, it was enjoyable. Gave me some scares (as my boyfriend tried to jolt me by inhaling suddenly at various points in the movie), and I did close my eyes at some of the gorier CGI scenes.

For a horror movie and for its entertainment value (as these stories SHOULD be), I give it a B-

It came to my attention that there was a sequel. I would say skip it. For the most part, sequels seem to falter and just be worse (when I found out "Butterfly Effect" had a sequel, I was shocked. I enjoyed the movie, but didn't really seeing its needing a sequel).

Enjoy!!

Toodles.
- - - - -
Upcoming Titles: "Marie Antoinette" ; "Dreamgirls" ; "Exit Through the Gift Shop" ; "Bon Cop, Bad Cop"

AND YES. I still need to review all those other past-mentioned films.

Not to mention, a hidden Kiefer Sutherland film, "Dark City" found its way into my 24: Season 7 download (ssshh!! jk), so I may or may not check that out.

Till then... Today will see a double feature. I recently re-watched "Borat" with my boyfriend because he said he hadn't seen it all the way before (only bits and pieces). He also told me (upon finishing) that he realized 3/4 of the way through that he'd seen the first 1/3 before.

REVIEWING NOW.